Spring Rolls

I probably haven’t had spring rolls in nearly a decade now. For one, I am allergic to shrimps and most spring rolls have dried shrimps mixed in them. My nose can smell it from a mile away. For this basic reason, I make my own pork mixture and roll it in a spring roll crepe to my desire. Spring rolls have become so mainstream that sometimes it’s not really as enjoyable having one outside anymore. I still have some cravings though, once in a while, and like now, I had the urge to make a batch. The ground pork can be substituted with chicken or beef based on what’s available or not available; really depending on geographic location.  Likewise, the dipping sauce is as versatile as the ingredients mixed in the marinade. That’s the fun of making homemade spring rolls. It’s very labour intensive, but when the entire clan is involved in rolling the ‘rolls’ and frying the dish thereafter, the fun begins. It’s a simple recipe, and I’m sure many have their own special marinade as passed on from one generation to the next. Unfortunately, I don’t have that food lineage to boot. All I have is a very hungry and empty stomach after a long day at work and all I want is something truly satisfying to put me down to sleep. It has to be fast, delicious and most of all, at least, a bit special to my eyes.  I’d survive eating a sausage and several slices of Rye Bread for dinner for as long as it’s fresh and it’s different from the grocery shelves.

The ground pork marinade I used for this Spring Roll was inspired by a TV  show. I had some Soft Tofu left from a soup dish and I had had to use it.  I’ve always wanted to try it  after seeing that show and with the leftover tofu, I began my quest of making my own personal spring roll.  Indeed, it’s a lot of hardwork for one person so I decided to do it in steps from preparation to actual cooking; taking me about three nights to reach the final product.

I have twisted the ingredients a bit, but it’s still the usual Spring Roll. I’ve also noticed that some if not many and usually the Filipino Lumpiang  Shanghai is served dry; sometimes too dry. The soft tofu I mixed in the pork mixture prevents this from happening. It was likewise marinated overnight to a day to let all the ingredients come together.  Marinating for hours end makes a huge difference.

Marinade: To taste

  • 1 lb. Ground Pork
  • Ginger
  • Garlic
  • Green Onions
  • Soft Tofu
  • Lime Juice
  • Brown Sugar
  • Light Soy Sauce
  • Dark Soy Sauce
  • Oyster Flavoured Sauce
  • Shaoxing Cooking Wine
  • Sesame Oil
  • Cornstarch
  • Salt & Pepper

Remove the crepe wrapper from the freezer to thaw and set one or two on the cutting board.Scoop about two tablespoons of the pork mixture and place it at the center of the wrapper.

Roll, fold and seal with an egg wash. Pan-fry or deep-fry.

Dipping Sauce:  To taste

    • Mirin
    • Light Soy Sauce
    • Salt & Pepper
    • Minced Garlic
    • Sesame Oil

2 thoughts on “Spring Rolls

Leave a comment